the snow so white

It all cycles through, me and them and us. The snow yesterday put us all out of ourselves; we lost our hesitance and inhibitions. You sat somewhere and watched everything happen: I danced with the rest of them, he wrote to me, and she finally found the courage to stand tall.
When I got home, there was not a soul around. Just me and the silence and the snow so white. I decided to share it with myself and with God, better than not at all. I walked some circles around and took some self-timer photographs and went inside and everything was still empty as can be. But it was okay. She was with those boys and he thought of me and they played in the snow and You were with all of us and that’s what matters.
Driving down the road I was extra careful because there was snow all around. There were deer dancing on that Old Mountain I’ve driven around for almost fifteen years now. They hid from me as I passed by. Bon Iver was perfect as I slowly made my way from home to new home. Those flowers laying silent in the passenger seat were the only color I saw, pinks and lavenders for Valentines Day of course. As I sit here now I enjoy their presence of life and growth. Just me and the flowers and You.
I think I’ll take a walk with You, lover of my soul. You will meet me at the park and we will talk all about it. We will say everything there is to say.
Now there is sun and color and no more stillness, no more silence. This season will change and we will all change with it. Someday, it will find us again and maybe then we will be glad we all hoped for more than just today.

“Live and be happy, children of my heart, and never forget that, until the day comes when God will deign to reveal the future to man, all human wisdom is contained in these words: Wait and Hope!” -The Count of Monte Cristo

“So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.” Psalm 90:12

Categories us

2 thoughts on “the snow so white

  1. I too listened to Bon Iver for a good part of yesterday. It was so fitting. Just reminds me we are all far more connected than we realize. Your post made me think of a poem of Lord Byron's…All Heaven and Earth are still, though not in sleep, But breathless, as we grow when feeling most. Love you, sistah.

    Like

Leave a Reply

