Stories from Battle: II

The good Physician uses needle, thread–
Mending places hanging open,
Badly damaged, bleeding red.

In struggle I rose to the heights alone,
Trying to fight the enemy.
With each gusty wind I’d blow.

“Come back down to land,” a voice called to me.
(The Physician saw my broken wings)
“Come be what you ought to be.”

As I fell from cloudy gray, I knew:
I was only battling with myself.
On my own I’m nothing True.

My good Physician has a different way.
He wears my scars on his own back,
Making sadness bright as day.

2 thoughts on “Stories from Battle: II

  1. "The word of God hurts as no sin canever hurt, because sin blunts feeling. The question of the Lordintensifies feeling, until to be hurt by Jesus is the most exquisite hurtconceivable. It hurts not only in the natural way but in the profoundpersonal way. The word of the Lord pierces even to the dividing asunder ofsoul and spirit, there is no deception left. There is no possibility ofbeing sentimental with the Lord's question; you cannot say nice thingswhen the Lord speaks directly to you, the hurt is too terrific. It is sucha hurt that it stings every other concern out of account. There never canbe any mistake about the hurt of the Lord's word when it comes to Hischild; but the point of the hurt is the great point of revelation." – Oswald Chambers

    Like

Leave a Reply

