Dear NYC,

I leave you behind with all the clouds and fog. I say farewell to lack of clarity and look ahead to the clear blue of spring sky. As our airplane made its way heavenward, your skyline was hidden under a heavy blanket of overcast. Just as the weight in my heart has been lifted, I hope your skies will fill with sunshine soon.

Forlorn umbrellas laid scattered in ruins, cast off by their soaking wet humans. Now I am dry. I am ready to return to my home and my people.

Thank you, City, for letting me rest in your streets this season. You allowed answers to some of life’s questions to enter in, and I am grateful. Thank you for taking on some of my stormy anxiety of countenance, replacing it with peace and quiet. Your drama and hustle bustle released me of some of my own internal chaos.

I pray those things cast off will rest in peace, and those things gleaned will grow and flourish.

One thought on “Dear NYC,

  1. This post reminds me of one of my favorite books, "Here's to Hindsight" by Tara Leigh Cobble. It's a little memoir of hers about life decisions and in it she writes letters to NYC, too! I'd highly recommend it :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

