planting

Two weeks ago, we decided it was time to plant some seeds our farmer friend Kerry gave us for our wedding. Our apartment has a little shared backyard. It’s overgrown and no one uses it for anything. The grass is about waist high.

Goodwill had a bunch of baskets for $1 each. Not ideal for outdoor gardening, but when lined with produce bags and coffee filters they work just fine. I poked some holes in the bags for draining. My mom told me about the coffee filter trick. I also put some gravel in the bottom to weigh down the baskets. This article about the gravel myth is disappointing, but hopefully the drainage will be ok.

I love fresh herbs, and they are way too expensive at the grocery store. I bought some staples to try to grow at home. Cilantro, rosemary, basil, chives. And a tomato, but I’m not sure we have enough sun.

I’ll go take another photo today to show our progress. The lettuce and peas are sprouting! Basil has some black spots on the leaves. Tomato has grown a few inches. We’ve had a bunch of rain so watering isn’t a problem. Sunshine is an issue–we have to move the pots around to get optimal sun.

Oh, yeah! Happy Memorial Day!

One thought on “planting

  1. We have good sunlight at our apartment so I am going to be growing some herbs myself. Drew and Big Steve are too! They have an awesome sunroom at their new apartment that they just filled with tons of living things.

    Like

Leave a Reply

