Way to Work Wednesday

Before the time changed, I saw a couple beautiful sunrises on my way to work. Lately, these colors in the sky are reflected in the leaves on the trees. Oranges, yellows, reds. I love it. These little things make the mile go by a bit faster.

Last night we went to see Gregory Alan Isakov and Blind Pilot at the Paradise Rock Club in Boston. This lineup was perfect for us. I love Isakov’s melancholy tunes and Robert loves Blind Pilot to the core. I pre-ordered him the latest album for his birthday in September. We got the vinyl, CD, autographed sleeve, and an really nice illustration print.

The show started out ok and got much better. We were disappointed with the venue setup. Not for short people like us, that’s for sure. The only “good” spot was directly in front of the stage. There are three huge pillars in the middle of the space obstructing views from most angles. It was packed with rowdy college folk. They were loud and disrespectful of the music. We had a tough spot for Isakov’s set– a side view of the stage with poor sound quality.

My husband is a man of initiative. He saw a roped off section with 2 seats, originally reserved for wheelchairs. The wheelchairs left after the first set. He asked the folks standing around if they would mind letting his pregnant wife sit in the chair. I held my belly and sat in that seat the rest of the night. Robert stood behind me. We were right up front with a pretty great view. I forgot our camera.

The point is, I got the royal treatment for being a mama. And a lady complimented my wedding ring (in the dark!) to top it all off! I don’t think we’ll be going back to Paradise any time soon, though.

Leave a Reply

